Stoke Gifford Journal > Elections > 2019 District Elections

2019 District Elections

Photo of a polling station.

On Thursday 2nd May 2019, all of the seats on South Gloucestershire Council (SGC) will be up for election.

The total number of seats on the council is being reduced to 61 (from the current 70) at this election

Councillors will be elected to serve a four-year term of office.

The Stoke Gifford parish elections are being held on the same day.

The Notice of Election will be published on Friday 22nd March 2019 and nominations will be accepted until the deadline on Wednesday 3rd April 2019.

The deadline for voter registration is Friday 12th April 2019. If you are unsure whether you are registered to vote, please contact the SGC helpline on 01454 863030.

Register to vote (GOV.UK)

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm.

More info:


Stoke Gifford ward (3 seats)

  • Brian Allinson (Conservative)
  • Ernest Brown (Conservative)
  • Keith Cranney (Conservative)
  • John Ford (Liberal Democrat)
  • Bob Griffin (Liberal Democrat)
  • Fred Hillberg (UKIP Make Brexit Happen)
  • Jenny James (Labour)
  • Brian Mead (Labour)
  • Tom Mewies (Labour)
  • Pam Shipp (Liberal Democrat)

Stoke Park and Cheswick ward (1 seat)

  • James Arrowsmith (Liberal Democrat)
  • Dayley Lawrence (Labour)
  • George Maggs (Conservative)

Candidates and parties online

Party policies and manifestos

News from the candidates and parties

UK_Restaurants_300x250Advertising in the Stoke Gifford Journal

The Stoke Gifford Journal magazine - your MONTHLY local newspaper.
Ocean Estate Agents, Bradley Stoke, Bristol.