2023 District Elections

Photo of the outside of a polling station at the Trust Hall.
Archive image: Polling station at the Trust Hall, Stoke Gifford.

On Thursday 4th May 2023, all of the seats on South Gloucestershire Council (SGC) will be up for election.

Councillors will be elected to serve a four-year term of office.

The Stoke Gifford parish elections are being held on the same day.

The Notice of Election will be published not later than Monday 27th March 2023 and nominations will be accepted until the deadline on Tuesday 4th April 2023.

The deadline for voter registration is Monday 17th April 2023. If you are unsure whether you are registered to vote, please contact the SGC helpline on 01454 863030.

Register to vote (GOV.UK)

Stoke Gifford and Little Stoke latest news.

The deadline for postal vote applications is Tuesday 18th April 2023.

Polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm. NEW: Photo ID must be shown!

More info:

District election news in the Journal


Candidates & results

We have made efforts to obtain a short (250-word max) statement from each candidate. If you are a candidate and haven’t heard from us yet, please get in touch.

View all available candidate profiles (or click on a name below)

Which ward am I in? Check your polling card or view an interactive map showing the local wards.

Editor’s note: A new parish (and corresponding district ward) is being formed for Stoke Park and Cheswick at the time of this election. As these areas no longer lie within the parish of Stoke Gifford, the elections are not included here.

Analysis of the results: Labour wrests one of three Stoke Gifford seats on South Glos Council from Tories (SGJ)

Stoke Gifford ward (3 seats)

🔗 Results in detail (SGC)

  1. David Addison (Labour) 1530 votes ELECTED
  2. Keith Cranney (Conservative) 1440 votes ELECTED
  3. Neel Das Gupta (Conservative) 1379 votes ELECTED
  4. Brian Mead (Labour) 1358 votes
  5. Tony Griffiths (Conservative) 1349 votes
  6. Daniel Harris (Labour Party) 1289 votes
  7. Jon Williams (Liberal Democrat) 927 votes
  8. Kimberley Stansfield (Liberal Democrats) 867 votes
  9. Karl Tomasin (Liberal Democrats) 693 votes
Stoke Gifford and Little Stoke A-Z directory of trades and services.

Political party manifestos

  • South Gloucestershire Conservatives’ Positive Plan 2023: JPEG [1.3MB, on Dropbox]
  • South Gloucestershire Labour Manifesto 2023: Website | Facebook | PDF [2.8MB on Dropbox]
  • South Gloucestershire Liberal Democrats manifesto 2023: PDF [1.7MB]

Political parties online

Stoke Gifford and Abbey Wood job vacancies.

Election previews

Related articles in the wider media

News from the candidates and parties

A collection of social media posts curated by the Journal.

Share this page: