Labour Party becomes largest group on Stoke Gifford Parish Council

Photo of a group of Labour supporters at an election count.
Labour supporters at the count, including newly elected Stoke Gifford parish councillors Penny Richardson (1st from left), Keiron Marsden (2nd from left), Sue Bandcroft (4th from left) and Janet Brunwin (5th from left). Photo credit: Labour group.

The Labour Party has become the largest political group on Stoke Gifford Parish Council following last week’s full elections, after they won seven of the available 12 seats, with the Conservatives picking up the remaining five seats.

Four of the five successful Conservatives were elected in the uncontested North and South parish wards, both of which had precisely the number of candidates standing as there were seats to fill.

In the contested six-seat Central ward, Labour candidates took the top five places, with Neel Das Gupta claiming the Conservatives’ only contested seat of the parish elections in sixth place.

Turnout in the Central parish ward was 41.18 percent.

Kitchen & Laundry Appliance Care.

Das Gupta was also successful in the South Gloucestershire Council election for Stoke Gifford ward, as were David Addision (Labour) and Keith Cranney (Conservative), both of whom also secured seats on the parish council.

The previous chair of council, Ernie Brown (Conservative), did not stand for re-election.

Comparison with the 2019 results isn’t straightforward as the parish has become smaller due to the former University ward (south of the A4174 Ring Road) becoming a parish in its own right, although the headcount on Stoke Gifford Parish Council has been kept unchanged at 12.


Restricting the comparison to the geographical extent of the revised parish area, represented by nine seats in 2019 and 12 seats now, Labour has increased its number of councillors from two to seven, while the Conservative headcount has dropped from seven to five.

For full details of the results, visit our 2023 Parish Elections page.

First meetings

The new administration will hold its first official meetings at Little Stoke Community Hall on Wednesday 10th May 2023, with the Annual Meeting at 7pm, followed immediately by a Full Council meeting at approximately 7.30pm.

The Annual Meeting will see the election of a new chair of council and the appointment of committee members.

Stoke Gifford and Little Stoke A-Z directory of trades and services.

All parish council meetings are open to members of the public, who can have their say during a 15-minute ‘public questions’ session at the start of each meeting. Agendas are published on the council’s website at least three clear days before each meeting.

New chair of council

UPDATE added 29th May 2023.

Photo of two councillors, one wearing a chain of office, shaking hands.
Cllr David Addison (left), the newly elected chair of Stoke Gifford Parish Council for 2023/24, is congratulated by the outgoing office holder Ernie Brown. Photo credit: John Rendell, SGPC.

Extract from the draft minutes of the parish council’s Annual Meeting held on 10th May 2023:

Cllr Mike Brown proposed that Cllr Andrew Shore serve as chair of council for the year 2023/24, seconded by Cllr Tony Hyde.

Cllr Sue Bandcroft proposed that Cllr Dave Addison serve as chair of council for the year 2023/24, seconded by Cllr Penny Richardson.

A vote was taken, Cllr David Addison – 6 votes, Cllr Andrew Shore – 5 votes. Cllr David Addison was duly elected as chair of council for 2023/24 and then took the chair of the meeting after signing the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

Share this page:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *